children's writer

Waiting on Wednesday: The Radiant Road

Aug 26, 2015
"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week I'm waiting on The Radiant Road by Katherine Catmull.




And sometimes the Strange came to visit Clare, and dreams walked through her waking life.

After years of living in America, Clare Macleod and her father are returning to Ireland, where they’ll inhabit the house Clare was born in—a house built into a green hillside with a tree for a wall. For Clare, the house is not only full of memories of her mother, but also of a mysterious boy with raven-dark hair and dreamlike nights filled with stars and magic. Clare soon discovers that the boy is as real as the fairy-making magic, and that they’re both in great danger from an ancient foe. 



I haven't read this author's other book, Summer & Bird, but this one sounds quite interesting. Ireland and magic, yes please!

Favorite Book Covers of 2016

Aug 25, 2015
While I'm perusing Goodreads a great cover is the first thing that catches my eyes. I've found a lot of great reads this way. I know that sometimes the book's cover can be stunning but the actual contents of that book may not live up to expectations. Still, like most book lovers, I can't help myself. When I see a pretty cover I have to check out the rest of the book.

Here are five of my favorite covers of 2016 so far:



I am a big fan of illustrated covers. I love the art on the guitar. It's quite folksy.



This was my WOW book last week. I think the cover is absolutely gorgeous. The design is so intricate.



I like how the title is written on the feathers, also the bit of text swirling in between. The blue is also quite eye catching. 



This book one of my most anticipated reads. I love everything about this cover, though I'm finding it hard to articulate exactly what draws me, maybe it's the bit of sky peeking through the stars or the typography. It's really unique.



This one is simple but I like it. I love the image of two people walking along the beach. 


That's it for me. Do you have any favorite covers?

On A Bookish Date: Rebecca

Aug 24, 2015
On A Bookish Date is a meme in which I share my love for books and cure my style cravings.



"Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again . . ."
The novel begins in Monte Carlo, where our heroine is swept off her feet by the dashing widower Maxim de Winter and his sudden proposal of marriage. Orphaned and working as a lady's maid, she can barely believe her luck. It is only when they arrive at his massive country estate that she realizes how large a shadow his late wife will cast over their lives--presenting her with a lingering evil that threatens to destroy their marriage from beyond the grave.


One of the books I read recently was Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier. It had been on my to-read list for a while, so I finally picked it up at the bookstore. Although it took me a while to get through, it has become one of my favorite classics. The words instantly took hold of me as I read. That first line is famous for a reason. Those are my favorite kinds of books, the ones that sink their teeth into you and don't let go. My favorite character was Mrs. Danvers, who I thought was evil in the best of ways. I could tell you my favorite scene but I don't want to spoil it.

This is what I would wear on a date with this classic:

Rebecca

Rebecca by traceyjoseph featuring zip bags


Have you read Rebecca?

Outlining with Pinterest

Aug 20, 2015
Now that I'm finished with one project, I'm more than ready to move on to another. The only problem is I have no idea what I want to write. Well, I have a vague idea. I'm just not sure if it's worth pursuing. In the six years I've been writing I've realized that I really don't want to spend time with a project I'm not absolutely in love with. I've done it in the past and reading those manuscripts makes me cringe. No, I want to be head-over-heels in love with whatever I'm writing.

I've had this issue in the past, not knowing how to begin, and I mistakenly wrote it off as writer's block. Little did I know the inspiration I needed was right there on Pinterest. Yes, when it comes to writing Pinterest is one of my favorite tools. The best part is, it's super easy to use and time seems to fly by while you're using it. I've recently started a new board for my WIP. Although I haven't written a word yet I've pinned enough images and quotes to give me ideas for new scenes.

I love this quote by Virginia Woolf. That's some awesome character description and gives me ideas for the kind of person I'd like my main character to be.


What I pin into my story boards can be anything from photos to music and illustrations. There's really no limit. Once I see an image I love, even if I don't know where it'll fit into the story just yet, I'll pin it. Usually, it'll spark a new idea for a scene, character, or setting later on. While I'm writing, I'll cruise through my board for last minute inspiration. I love seeing my story develop and grow on Pinterest.

This is my most recent story board for a horror romance I'd love to write soon.


Waiting on Wednesday: Wink Poppy Midnight

Aug 19, 2015
"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week I'm waiting on Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke.




Every story needs a hero.
Every story needs a villain.
Every story needs a secret.

Wink is the odd, mysterious neighbor girl, wild red hair and freckles. Poppy is the blond bully and the beautiful, manipulative high school queen bee. Midnight is the sweet, uncertain boy caught between them. Wink. Poppy. Midnight. Two girls. One boy. Three voices that burst onto the page in short, sharp, bewitching chapters, and spiral swiftly and inexorably toward something terrible or tricky or tremendous.

What really happened?

Someone knows.

Someone is lying.



So I read an excerpt of this and I absolutely loved the writing. It's everything I would want in a book, just beautiful. The story seems like it'll be quite an adventure, too. I can't wait to pick this one up next year. Next year seems so far away.

#PitchWars Mentee Bio

Aug 7, 2015
Hey guys! I'm super new to GIFs, so I'm just going to start off with ones from Supernatural because it's one of my favorite shows. For those who are wondering, I've always been more of a Sam girl. I have a thing for the underdogs.


I'm Tracey and I write young adult and middle grade fiction. I did start off writing contemporary, but my last two manuscripts have been light fantasy. I began writing almost six years ago after reading Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr. Something about that book really spoke to me because I decided I wanted to write my own book. I did and of course it wasn't any good, but here I am still pouring words onto the page. I guess it was meant to be.


I'm super excited to be participating in #PitchWars this year. I just love being a part of such  a wonderful community. Writing is the one thing I've ever felt like I could do. I've never really been good at anything else. Sure, I've had other interests in the past but they were all fleeting. I think that's how I know that writing is something that I'm truly passionate about. I will most certainly work hard to make my book the best it can be if I'm chosen as a mentee. I will make it sparkle.


So here are a few more facts about me:


1. I am a proud HufflePuff or Ravenpuff. I was first sorted into Ravenclaw, but I didn't agree and took the test again. I don't mind being in both houses.


2. I am obsessed with Studio Ghibli. Howl's Moving Castle is one of my favorite movies of all time. "A heart's a heavy burden." I love that line.


3. I am an INFP, which means I am an introvert. A while ago, I got really into Myers & Briggs. I love seeing who belongs to which type.

4. I love books that make my heart ache in the best possible way. Never Let Me Go, When You Reach Me, and A Wrinkle in Time are three of my all time favorite reads.


5. I also love a good ghost story. Growing up, I loved watching horror movies. At ten, I remember staying up really late to watch the premier of Rose Red. The others is my favorite ghost story. 


6. As for my musical tastes, I have a thing for The Paper Kites, Gregory Alan Isakov, Lisa Hannigan, and The Shins. I love indie/folk music. I also love the God Help the Girl soundtrack a lot. I highly recommend the movie if you haven't already seen it. 




7. Favorite Movies: My Girl, BeetleJuice, Edward Scissorhands, Pans Labyrinth, The Others, Bright Star, Howl's Moving Castle, Spirited Away, My Neighbor Totoro,  An Education, Never Let Me Go, The Age of Adaline, Jane Eyre, Pride and Prejudice. 


8.  I'm obsessed with Pinterest. Seriously, I spend way too much time on there. Here's the board for my #PitchWars novel.


9. I have a major sweet tooth. Although I don't bake, I really enjoy looking at pictures of cake.

10.  I'll stop here with the best GIF ever. Yes, I read Watson's blog. 


I love writing light fantasy. I think it's literally the best of both words. I get to write about fantastical creatures with a just the right amount of realism. My #PitchWars novel is called IVY OF OUR HEARTS. Unsurprisingly, there are faeries in it. There's also a little bit of magic. It's set in the woodlands and I think it would appeal to fans of Melissa Marr, Holly Black, and Jodi Lynn Anderson.


Thanks for visiting me! I wish I could have added some Bob's Burgers GIFs as well, but I didn't want to make this post too long. Good luck to all of the potential mentees!